Wiki Moderate Sedation in Office w/ E&M

Ldari

Networker
Best answers
Hoping someone could help me clarify this. If billing for established or new E&M at same time physician perform procedure is there a problem with billing 99144? I have been adding modifier 25 to the E&M visit in this case but someone else mentioned that modifier 59 might be needed. I understand there is a CCI edit but I thought the 25 would be all that's needed. How would you bill the following?

J0702
A4550

Thank you for your help in advance. I am also new to physician billing so any help would be appreciated.

Last edited:
If it is a planned injection w/ sedation, it typically would not be reasonable to also bill the carrier a follow up visit unless a significant, separately identifiable EM service was required that went above and beyond the pre- and post- work for the procedure. I would think providing routine RXs would not be separately, identifiable nor would a templated looking HPI or exam with limited amount of additional treatment options being set forth.

As seen in my previous post, I am not in favor of billing follow up visits with injections, but I thought i would provide additional resources from NCCI Policy manual and CPT Assistant