Wiki MI

Lizz B

Best answers
New to ER coding and a little confused. Provider's dx: Acute Coronary Syndrome, MI. Per physician reading EKG, Acute MI. Patient was transferred to higher level of care with dx for transfer of Acute MI. My confusion is that the ED provider only states MI, not acute MI. He does not give additional info re location or timing. Do I code this as an Acute MI, 410.90? Or should I query provider for additional information? Thanks for any and all help!

Hi I am new to ER coding also, but use to code cardiology. I assume it was the initial visit for the MI and the location (anterior/apical, etc) was not mentioned I would code 410.91.
Hope this helps! :)

Thanks for your quick reply! Still researching, but your help is very much appreciated!

Coding of myocardial infarction

The fifth-digit subclassification for category 410 identifies the episode of care. A fifth digit of 1 indicates the first time the patient was seen and treated for MI and may be used at the first hospital where the patient received treatment and at other acute care hospitals to which the patient is subsequently transferred (without interim discharge). For example, if a patient was admitted to Hospital A for AMI and then transferred to Hospital B for a cardiac bypass, code 410.x1 would be assigned as the principal diagnosis for both acute care hospital stays. If the patient was then readmitted to Hospital A for recovery without being discharged home, code 410.x1 could still be assigned as the principal diagnosis.

A fifth digit of 2 is assigned when a patient is admitted for subsequent care of an MI after the initial care but within eight weeks of the initial MI. Assign code 414.8 if the MI is described as chronic or lasts for eight weeks or longer.