Wiki Medical Necessity - counting key components

tg

Networker
Best answers
I would appreciate help with the following question. When counting key components I often end up with a 99214, however the diagnosis is not very complicated, for example, canker sore, sore throat. My question is do I downcode based on the medical necessity? How do I downcode and when am I required to do this? Again, thank you for your help; I am a new coder and have many questions that come up as I work...

When counting the History and Exam elements I end up with Detailed and Detailed and for an established patient I only need 2 out of 3, which leads me to a 99214.

yes but how much of the history was "brought" forward from a previous exam? it is for this reason most payers pay more attention to the exam and MDM. I find it very hard to get a detailed exam for the kinds of dx you posted as examples, It might be beneficial if you were to post an example note for us to review and see if we all get the same answer.

It's not so much 'down coding for medical necessity' as it is counting the elements that pertain to the patient's illness. Because medical necessity is the over arching criteria, you would only count the HPI, exam, and MDM elements that are necessary to treat 'canker sore, sore throat'.

Wow I never knew that. One of the PAs I do coding for is very thorough and does an extensive ROS and Exam for most encounters - even just a sore throat, and that's how I end up with the 99214...

Here is a collection of bullet points from Medicare that I use in my presentations, It always seems to help clarify this very issue:
* Report an E/M service only when the service meets medical necessity requirements and document sufficiently to support the medical necessity of the E/M service reported.
* Medical necessity is the overarching criterion for payment in addition to the individual requirements of a CPT code.