Wiki Medial branch block

MDPAYNE

Contributor
Best answers
I need some help coding this i'm new to the pain management coding .

The patients op report reads as follows:

Lumbar medial branch block:
Pt was placed in the prone position on the fluroscopy table. Sterile prep and drape was applied. The proper level for the needle placement was obtained using radiographic confirmation. Lidocaine 1% was used to anesthetize the skin. A 25-gage spinal needle was advances into the estimated location of the medial branches.then 4% lidocaine totaling 0.3cc's at each location was injected under fluro. The injection was done at the l5-s1 bilaterally -3 injections per side.

Thanks for your help

So would this be L4 medial branch nerve blocked at L5, L5 blocked at sacral ala, and also S1 branch blocked considering it is contributing to L5-S1 on each side which would be 64493-50. It could of been listed as L4-S1 medial branch block or Medial branch block for nerves innervating the L5-S1 facet joint.

64493-50 these procedures are coded by level not by number of injections or vertebra. So as dwaldman said above, L5-S1 is one level, done bilaterally.

(These are my opinions and should not be construed as being the final authority. Other opinions may vary.)

The procedure description that you gave us does not seem to make sense. If three medial branch nerves were injected on each side, then that would suggest that two spinal levels were blocked, which would be coded 64493-50, +64494-50 (fluoro is included). But, the description only indicates one level was blocked, and without a clarification from your physician (corrected operative report or addendum), all that can be coded is 64493-50 (fluoro included). This is of course assuming that this was a 2010 date-of-service (DOS). If you are coding a pre-2010 DOS, then look at 64475-50, 77003. Be sure to also pay attention to the preference of the carrier regarding bilateral modifiers.

Richard Mann, your pain management coder