Wiki Looking to do medical billing on my own...

Best answers
Hello Fellow Members
I have been working in the billing arena for the past 10 years and am looking to step out on my own. I work for a company that does the billing for about 10 (and growing) physicians offices. I do the billing for their outpatient surgery center but before that center opened (and at times since then) I have had the opportunity to work with the physicians billing as well. Every once in a while I meet someone that does billing, but they don't work for a company, they contract with physicians on their own and do the billing themselves (with an employee or 2 as well of course).

I'm very interested in doing this, but I don't know how an individual would go about contracting with doctors and even more so how I would get enough physicians to work with me to make this a lucrative venture.
I have loads of experience in all of the areas of billing and in outpatient coding. I even have some administrative experience as well. I am confident this is something I can do and am just looking for any suggestions from those who have been successful doing this on their own.
Thanks in advance for any advice and/or suggestions!

I am also entertaining this idea, so I am interested to see what responses you get.

I know that I would only start off part time outside of my day job, but I don't know what I need to do as far as getting billing software because I would assume I need that in place before I start soliciting physicians. I'm just not sure how to get past this obstacle and I have been looking for someone who has done this successfully so I can pick their brain!

Good luck to you!

I'm curious too. My husband is an Idea man and small business guru. He keeps bugging me to start a business in billing, but what worries me is the upcoming changes to EHR, and technology updates in billing software, etc... I hope someone responds with answers!! Thanks for putting this out there!!