Wiki Laceration Repair-learning more about

nanc512

New
Best answers
I am learning more about ER coding, normally we audit and code for facilities who use physicians who are on staff at the facility. I have very little experience with a physician being a part of a different group and I am trying to learn.

If a patient has a laceration repair, is that coded with the facility portion or the physician portion? Is there a good reference site for what codes are normally billed on the physician side? I have only see the E/M codes, but ran across one that had a laceration repair as well.

Thanks.

Nan

repairs are for both pro and facility side. All injections, infusions and hydrations are done on the facility side, UNLESS the physician SPECIFICALLY PERFORMS IT THEMSELVES, not the nurses. Splinting is captured on the pro side if the doc performed it (also captured on the facility side too).

I am learning more about ER coding, normally we audit and code for facilities who use physicians who are on staff at the facility. I have very little experience with a physician being a part of a different group and I am trying to learn.

If a patient has a laceration repair, is that coded with the facility portion or the physician portion? Is there a good reference site for what codes are normally billed on the physician side? I have only see the E/M codes, but ran across one that had a laceration repair as well.

Thanks.

Nan

Hi Nan,

The ACEP (American College of Emergency Physicians) has a lot of information regarding facility and physician coding that you might find very useful.