Wiki job search problems

lakastner

Contributor
Local Chapter Officer
Best answers
9/7/2012

Hi All:
Have been reading these threads.....

My particular brick wall is that the CCS is what a lot of remote companies seem to want. I have a CPC-H. I have a Masters degree. I have been in HIM area for over twenty years. In coding for over ten years. I have taught coding, anatomy, and medical terminology for four years. I am an ICD-10 trainer. I have done outpatient coding, now currently an inpatient coder--multiple specialities in a teaching hospital--you name it, I have probably coded it and I agree some areas of my coding background are stronger than others. I am not coding-challenged because I chose to go for a CPC-H rather than a CCS. I have the experience and knowledge, but because I don't have the CCS I have been ignored, turned down (..."we really need the CCS"...), my online applications/CV and supporting info are sent, apparently to an electronic circular file. I've had one company that interviewed me over the phone and was supposed to send me their test--never heard from them again. The companies that keep in touch are ones that I am not keen on working for, based on experiences from colleagues in my office who have had problems with payroll, work assignments and so forth. I am looking for part-time remote, inpatient coding, but willing to discuss other options as well.
To the new coders out there, be persistent and don't give up. It may take a while, but you will find something! Get as much education/experience as possible--somewhere. Get involved in your local AAPC chapters. If you haven't started any ICD-10 training, it might be a good idea to start.
Hang in there!

Lois Kastner, M.A., CPC-H
Approved AHIMA ICD-10 Trainer
lakastner@usa.net