Wiki Job responsibilites

whoopeedew

Best answers
I had a question for everyone. I work as a medical biller, and my boss wants me to take on coding as a back up to the main coder. So I would normally do billing (what I was hired for), and then when we get back logged with tickets I would help code. The only thing is that there is no pay increase. If I am taking on coding (which pays a lot more than billing, even if I am an apprentice), shouldn't my boss pay me more to do coding because it is not part of my job responsibilities?

In my opinion...

I feel you should get paid a bit more than you are now even if you have your CPC-A. You will be given more responsibilities, even if it is just as a back up, to be under the primary coder. The doctor is benefitting from having 2 coders so (s)he should reward you both. The primary coder should also get paid more since it will be their responsibility to ensure the codes you are coding are correct.

Just my 2 cents...good luck to you. The distance learning course through AAPC is intense but prepares you for the certification exam.

:cool:

I thought so to! I did pass my CPC back in May and I am an apprentice. They hired me knowing this. When I think of it, I went to school for coding not only because I love to do it, but also because it pays a lot more than billing. I feel I should be paid for my skills. At my job you can't code unless you have your certification. An no one else in the office has one but me and the actual coder:).

I have worked for a company that paid me $1000 bonus and a small raise when I received my CPC.
I then worked for another company when I recevied my CGSC, and they basically said "we didn't require or ask you to do this, so we don't feel we should pay you more."
I then worked for another company when I received my CPC-H and they gave me a hearty "good job".
It depends on the company. You can always point out that you are more valuable and be sure to bring it up at review time.