Wiki Is it better to take the CPC exam now or later?

eptept

Best answers
Hello. I am a medical office administration student and new AAPC member. Though I will not graduate until May of 2014, I have completed my procedure and diagnostic coding courses. In no way do I feel prepared for a certification exam.

Like many of my classmates, I am trying to determine the best time to attempt the exam. There are a long list of factors to consider, including: preparedness, the value of the certification in relation to the new ICD-10 release, prep courses offered, cost, etc. Because this is a new field for me, I do not know what I do not know. What I mean is, I do not know what other elements are important to take into account.

Since I have an informal report assignment for my Professional Research and Reporting class, I decided to use this dilemma as the subject. My fellow future coders are all waiting to read the results, so the pressure to do a thorough job is on!

Would you please share your related concerns or ideas on the best timing?

I only have a week to complete the research and it looks like I am going to lose research days because Sandy is sure to knock out power soon. It is so windy now that the wind is setting off car alarms up and down the street! I would greatly appreciate any help you can offer!

Honestly,