Wiki Interventional Cardiology Coding Questions

4mercedheart

Best answers
I am new to billing and I find myself starting with interventional cardiology.
At this time I have 2 cases that are completely throwing me and the gal training me off. How do I code these?
1) LHC; PCI of LAD-(1st vessel), PCI of Ramus Artery, Angioseal. DX ACS

2)
LHC; Cor angio, LV Angio, SVG Angio, LIMA Angio; Aortic Arch Angio; Right Innominate Artery Angio, Angioseal
DX: 414.01, 411.1

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

need more details or maybe the reports.
1) were the coronaries imaged or just the left ventricle?
PCI isn't specific enough, what kind of intervention was performed in each vessel?
angioseal is never separately billable

2) LHC w/ coronaries w/ grafts - 93459
arch angiography 93567 w/ diagnosis V15.1 - typically done to look for additional grafts (need report)
right innominate (need report)

Procedure performed:
1. Left Heart cardiac catheterization
2. Selective left and right coronary angiography
4. Left ventriculography
4.AORTIC ROOT ANGIOGRAM (Doctor's Caps)

Description of procedure:
After informed consent, the patient was brought to the cardiac cath room. He was prepped and draped in the usual sterile fashion. A 6 French sheath was placed in the right femoral artery using the Seldinger technique with out difficulty or complications. 6 French JL and pigtail catheters were used to perform the selective angiography in multiple projections and angulations.
Following diagnostic angiography, a femoral arety angiogram was performed. a 6French Angioseal was deployed for access site closure.

2)Procedure Performed:
1. Left hear cardiac catheterization
3. Left ventriculography
4. LIMA ANGIOGRAPHY
5. SVG ANGIOGRAPHY
6. RIGHT INNOMINATE ARTERY ANGIOGRAM
7. AORTIC ARCH ANGIOGRAM

Description of Procedure: