Wiki If you don't use it, you'll lose it!

Best answers
I have read in one of the coding trade magazines that it is best to get at least one year experience coding before taking a CPC exam. I have taken it once and unfortunately didn't pass. My externship was something left to be desired. I am a true believer, if you don't use it you'll lose it. Most employers want someone with 2-4 years experience but will hire someone who is related to someone that knows someone with NO experience or education. How do you gain experience outside of an externship? Any advice or words of wisdom/encouragement?

I kept hearing the same thing. I passed the CPC exam a month before I graduated and it was still the same response of needing 2 to 4 years experience. I got lucky that my school tries to place all graduates, I got a call for a temp position doing administrative work at a medical office and it is turning in to a permanent position after the first of the year. But it seems that being willing to do something else in the medical field is the only way to get started which makes it hard to get that "A" off of your credential.

I've heard the same thing...but then aapc also claims that 85% of the students who take their courses pass the CPC exam. I am taking courses in a community college for an associates degree in MOT (Medical Office Technology). I will be interning next semester, and will graduate in May, but also plan on taking the CPC-H course through aapc starting next month. I have no experience at all in the medical office, but am very "book smart" and very dedicated to my studies, so I have high hopes in passing the exam. When I am done, I know I will have to take a lesser job, but that's fine with me. As bbrucew said, a person has to be willing to do something else in the medical field just to "get started".

Agree with prior experience