Wiki ICD-9 Code

vickiete

Best answers
I am a new coder to Med Allergy. Could someone give me some guidance on the ICD-9 code you would use when the patient comes in for their allergy Shot. I have a note which reads patient returns for follow-up of venom allergy and allergic rhinitis. He has been on immunotherapy for honey bee allergy. What would be the diagnosis? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I am a new coder to Med Allergy. Could someone give me some guidance on the ICD-9 code you would use when the patient comes in for their allergy Shot. I have a note which reads patient returns for follow-up of venom allergy and allergic rhinitis. He has been on immunotherapy for honey bee allergy. What would be the diagnosis? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

You will need V codes lik a V 67 for the follow up and a V 15 or two for the allergy history .

Hi Vicki, For the allergic rhinitis I would use ICD-9 Code 477.8 (Allergic Rhinitis due to other allergen). The patient is actively receiving injections for the allergy. I would not use a "History of" code if the patient is actively getting treatment for his/her allergies.

i have to disagree if you read the coding guidelines this is not how you would code a condition that does not currently exist. Allergic rhinitis is an acute condition it does not represent a condition that does not cureently exist but is being prophylactically being treated.
The definition of allergic rhinitis is:
Allergic rhinitis is a diagnosis associated with a group of symptoms affecting the nose. These symptoms occur when you breathe in something you are allergic to, such as dust, animal dander, or pollen.
The patient does not have allergic rhinitis when they present for routine allergy injections they are getting the injections to prevent the occurrence of the allergic rhinitis, this is why there are V codes for the history of having the the allergy.

Last edited: