Wiki ICD-10 and work experience

djett

Best answers
Hello,
I graduated form a medical coding school and have a associates degree in accounting. I sat for my CPC and passed with my first try and I have paid for continuing education through AAPC for ICD-10.
My question is after two years and still not able to obtain a coding position due to lack of work experience, I am wondering if it will continue to be difficult after October 1 when ICD-10 is implemented? I have heard that they expect to see an influx of experienced coders leaving the field because they will not want to deal with the transition. If that is the case will they take a new coder or one with little experience and train or will it still be difficult to find a position?
What are your thoughts? I am just wondering if I should still hold on or change directions completely.
:confused:

Reply to questions

Ok, first...you don't have to have a specific coding position to use your coding certification. There are other areas of the medical profession where it's also valuable. Such as insurance companies, teaching or medical office management. With your associates degree you may want to consider expanding or at least looking at these other areas. I have a friend that's a RN and CPC and she works for Anthem as a provider rep.

As for the ICD-10 part of your question.....I think some of the older coders will consider retiring because of the dramatic change. The whole "old dog new tricks" thing. Either way ICD-10 testing is a requirement to maintain your certification so in terms of learning the new stuff everyone will start on the ground level regardless of coding experience. BUT the "experience" part that I think is so important for getting hired for a coding position is what I like to call the "tried and true" aspect. You've worked in the field long enough to have made and learned from all your mistakes or if you're lucky, you have worked under someone very wise & didn't have to learn them all the hard way.