Wiki I give up

ossierand

Networker
Best answers
Just thought that I would share these comments with all the women that have kids have taken time off for maternity and want to get back into the working field again. I have more than ten years of experience with the health care ;I have worked both in the clinical side and in the billing side. I took some time off about a year ago because I just delivered a baby and I have four other kids as well thinking that it would be no big deal ,that it would be only a year then I would go back into the working field again boy was I mistaken.:(
I have interviewed for remote coding positions with all the companies out there but as soon as they found that i have taken some time off they just don't call again. Just wondering has anyone been in my shoes and have gotten a job after taking some time off or is that it should I just give up on working??

Don't give up.
I took three years off to have my two kids and it took me more than a year to get a job after deciding it was time to go back to work. The job market is tough. Keep looking and applying!

Here's my first thought.....Whatever you do....don't share your parenting status with any prospective employer, because I'm now wondering if any of the companies you applied to were aware that you are a mother to five children. If so, they're probably wondering when the heck you're going to have time to code with five kids at home? (I mean that with all due respect). But the reality is that even though it's discriminatory to eliminate mothers as candidates, it's all about business and employers are wondering if their work will have to compete with your soccer practice, pediatrician visits and breast feeding.