Wiki How to code for injections/vaccination

gr8gal61

Guru
Best answers
I am new to the arena of walk in clinic coding and the injections & vaccinations are getting the best of me.

When administering standard pediatric vaccinations, what is the correct injection code to use?

J codes are drug codes correct?

If ANYONE has some insight to this injection coding thing, I would appreciate it. I need to get it down in my head correctly.

Thanks for any help in this area.

Peds vaccination there is no J code. It is only CPT codes along with Administrative codes (Usually 96372 for IM/SQ).If patient has fever or other illness and they administer any injections then use J codes along with administration codes

Peds vaccination there is no J code. It is only CPT codes along with Administrative codes (Usually 96372 for IM/SQ).If patient has fever or other illness and they administer any injections then use J codes along with administration codes

Vaccination administration codes are not 96372 that is for therapeutic, Vaccination admin codes are in the range 90465-90474 depending on age. Plus the code for the toxoid.

Thank you both for the clarification on the pediatric vaccine codes HOWEVER what about a patient that comes in and needs a "monthly" injection for a condition (I cannot think of a drug name off the top of my head as I haven't been doing this long) it will be a J code and do I also use the 96372 code for injection or does it also fall under the 90465 90472 classification?

What about the Depo shot? That is all the patient came in for. How is it coded?

And multiple injections? lets say there are three injections given and one oral. Do I code the first injection 90471 and 90472x2 ????

Thanks for all the help.