Wiki How do you stay fresh if you can't find a job?

rebeccand

Best answers
I graduated in May with my certification in medical billing and coding and passed the exam in June. As many others have experienced, I can't find a position. I am looking for other positions to get my "foot in the door" but so far no luck.
How do you keep your skills fresh without a job? Even now, not that long after graduating, I kind of feel like I'm losing my skills.

Thanks for any help.

Rebecca

Ways to stay 'fresh' while searching for that 1st job

Rebecca,

Do you belong to and participate in your local chapter? If not, I'd highly recommend that. Benefits of being in a chapter: networking with other coders, finding someone to mentor you, learning about job opportunities that may not make the job boards, and meeting coders in the various subfields of coding.

You'll probably earn 1 to 2 CEUs each month with the educational part of your chanpter meeting. In addition, my chapter offers 4 seminars are year (4.0 CEUs each) digging into topical issues. Many of our members w/ a CPC annually re-take the CPC Exam Prep and Review class to refresh their knowledge in areas outside their specialty.

Read the questions posted in the forums, here, work out your answers, see what other coders respond with, compare your answers with theirs and the logic they offer for their answers.

Each month, you can get a free CEU by completing the Test Yourself feature on that month's Coding Edge magazine.

You can practice your E/M knowledge at EMuniversity.com; they have one unit for free; you can purchase 3-month access to all of their site for $99 and potentially earn 33 CEUs with AAPC.

AAPC (look under Continuing Ed on your Home page) offers Code-a-Round where for $9.95/set, you can get sets of 5 cases to code; each specialty has 10 sets of cases. You can use these to prepare for a specialty while you strive to become employed.