Wiki helpppp...dx coding for physical therapy

blnord

Best answers
Hi all,
I am a billing service and specialize in physical therapy. I need some clarification, I am NOT a certified coder and have recently notified my providers that I would not affix an ICD9 code to a claim that they needed to send me the correct code along with the patient info (previously they would send me a copy of the referring doctors script with the written diagnosis only). I told them that because I am not a coder it is not legal for me to be doing this one of my providers is disputing that, he says:
" I can see this for an MD. You have to remember we are not attaching any diagnosis, by the time the patient sees us the diagnosis has been made and is in the system. We cannot do anything to change that. If we were the ones making the original diagnosis I could understand. There is no illegality here because we are working with the doctor's diagnosis. Whether we put the ICD-9 code down or you do it, how does it matter? We do not have a certified coder on staff either. Doctor's do, but we don't because we do not need one. It would be redundant and a waste of time. I have confirmed this with a friend of mine who has a PT billing company."
Can anyone corroborate either way which is true?