Wiki Help with the new job and the old way of billing

khardy

New
Best answers
Ok so I graduated top of my class and scored high 80"s on cpc exam> I then received my first break and landed a job> at first dr and staff were overwhelmed with my abiltiy to learn and function independently with in first week. However into 4th week nurse of 13 years quit and i was given double the work load without any instruction on what and how it was to be done. the more i asked questions to make sure charts were documented correctly the more upset dr was with me. Now I also was struggling with the charges on some patients and the dr policies on receiveing money and who pays and what they pay depending on if she liked them> i questioned several times and express that there are laws that state you charge the same ect. within month i was fired. How do you do what is right to protect your own back without getting fired.???

It is very unfortunate that you had this experience and hopefully the next position which you gain will be more rewarding! Remember the most important rule of thumb....code for what is actually done! You completed the coding class, therefore, you know right from wrong. Each state has contracts with certain carriers which means that the front staff should be collecting co-pay amounts from their patient at first encounter and posting payments properly. It is not what the docs want to collect from the patients. I wish you much success in finding your next coding adventure!:)

I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience, but it sounds like there was more going on in this practice than you were aware of at the time...and that your firing had nothing to do with your work performance and everything to do with a deceitful physician. They are out there, and coders get caught in the crossfire all the time.