Wiki Help with ROS!!

l1ttle_0ne

Guru
Best answers
We are starting to audit at our clinic. This is what one of our physicians puts in for his review of systems for each patient.

"Review of Systems: Please see the form on the chart dated 12/17/2014, that was reviewed today with changes noted above."

When the patient first comes in they have them fill out a review of systems form. So this is what he's referencing. Every visit that he has with the patient he just references that form, and states if there are any changes or not. Is this OK for the doctor to do?? I'm not really sure, and I'm new to this auditing. So I would just have to look at that form, to get the ROS when auditing?? I'm confused!! Can anyone help?! Please!

Thank you! One more question, can you use this as a full ROS??

ROS: ROS negative except for HPI

I believe you can, but I'd like to double check.

Yes you can use that statement, however, if you are going to request a change of statement I would consider "ROS 10 point review negative except for HPI". In this statement all bases are covered and would pass any RAC audit.
hope this helps some.

No, this would not be appropriate

There are 14 recognized systems for ROS and there are only 2 appropriate ways to document a complete ROS. 10 or more individually or pertinent positive and negatives individually with a statement of "all other systems reviewed and are negative". Below are a statement from WPS Medicare along with the official guidelines.

http://www.wpsmedicare.com/j8macpartb/resources/provider_types/evalmngmntqa.shtml

Q9. The 1995 and 1997 DGs indicate "all other systems are negative" is acceptable for a comprehensive level of the Review of Systems. Does WPS accept this?