Wiki Help with e/m codes on test c of the aapc practice exam

Best answers
Hello,

This is my first time here and I have a question about an answer that I got recently on the practice exam C on an E/M code. I coded it one way and they coded it another and I totally do not understand the reasoning behind the one they choose to use.

Below is the scenario with the choices to choose from:

Documentation of a new patient in a doctor's office setting supports the History in four elements for an extended history of present illness (HPI), three elements for an extended review of systems (ROS) and three elements for a complete Past, Family, Social History (PFSH). There is an extended examination of six body areas and organ systems. The medical making decision making is of high complexity. Which E/M service supports this documentation?

A. 99205
B. 99204
C. 99203
D. 99202
Can you please tell me which one it is? It says it is C 99203 but I think it should be 99205 and if not that then the 99204 but certainly not the 99203. I read the reasoning they gave but I do not understand it. I am going to be taking the CPC exam in Austin on the 5th of November and I want to do a good job. On this exam I got all of them right except for two of them.

Thank you for your help in this matter.

Hugs,
Kat :):)

Jaci

Hi , the 99205 would require both a comprehensive hx and exam. The question states only 3 ROS, comprehensive hx requires 10. The exam is stated as extended which infers a detailed exam. Both the hx and exam are detailed, therefore the answer is 99203.

Jaci Johnson, CPC,cpma, cemc,CPC-h, CPC-I

When it is new patient then all three of the key components must be met or exceeded.
so fo hx you have extended HPI, extended ROS and comprehensive PFSH - so hx requires all three of these components to be met or exceeded at any given level, which makes this detailed.