Wiki Help with colectomy, colovesicular fistula op note please

lshannon

Contributor
Best answers
All advice is welcomed. I am a plastics and derm coder, I dabble in some surgery, but this op note has the surgeon and assistant surgeon disagreeing about what was done. I need experienced minds to check my coding--the docs can discuss their issues separately. I want to submit the correct codes per the op report.

So far I have 44145, 44139 for CPT codes. DX codes 562.10 (as documented, but diverticulosis won't cause the damage if it's not inflamed, so I think it should be 562.11), 569.81

Thanks in advance.

Lynn
POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSIS: Colovesicular fistula, urinary tract infection, diverticulosis, rule out cirrhosis, coagulopathy, superior mesenteric vein thrombosis.

FINDINGS: General surgical findings were a colovesical (sic) fistula involving the sigmoid colon. The extent of the diverticular disease extended throught the entire left colon, up to and involving the splenic flexure. The urologic findings are as per Dr. X (urologist). The small bowel was unremarkable, as was the spleen. The gallbladder and the liver felt minimally nodular. The rectum was unremarkable.

PROCEDURE:
...The urologic procedures were as noted and were performed by Dr. X.