Wiki Help! When is this ok to change a DX after a denial?

Crystal82603

Best answers
Hello,

I am a coder for a lab. We really don't do the coding here, its all sent to us from the provider and we code what they tell us to code. So i feel like I am losing a lot of my knowledge, and I am now second guessing myself. Please help.

-if insurance denies for a DX issue, i will call and see if they have anymore codes to add and resubmit. If none i have to take adjustment.

-Occasionally i will get a claim that will deny bc there are screening codes along with a DX code and they will not process with both, so I have been told to remove the Z codes and resubmit, is this ok to do?

-I work for a lab that does specialized testing, and I will get an order from the provider and they will list 10 plus codes with DX that do not relate to the testing done. Do I have to list all possible codes they have provided? Like acne, when we are doing testing for non related things?

Sorry. I just want to make sure this is all done correctly!

The providers need education and/or they need to let the coders do the work in order to bill these labs compliantly.

For use of screening Z codes, follow ICD-10 instruction:
"Screening is the testing for disease or disease precursors in seemingly well individuals so that early detection and treatment can be provided for those who test positive for the disease. The testing of a person to rule out or confirm a suspected diagnosis because the patient has some sign or symptom is a diagnostic examination, not a screening. In these cases, the sign or symptom is used to explain the reason for the test."

I'm willing to bet that the labs your physicians are performing are for signs/symptoms and conditions the patient has rather than to identify potential diseases in symptom-free patients?

Hello,