Wiki help! I/P hospital visits and global

OBcoder2017

Best answers
Are inpatient hospital visits for pregnancy complications payable outside of the global package? In other words, can I bill for complication visits at hospital and still bill the global delivery at the end without breaking the global package? I've taken an AAPC course that stated that we absolutely can bill for excluded antenatal care w/o breaking global. Can someone please help here. I've struggled with this for quite some time and fight for this based on coursework I've taken through AAPC.

I believe you can. As long as the admission did not result in the delivery, you can bill inpatient changes. They are not included in the global package.

Our Medicaid Biller says we cannot bill them because they will break global. The office I am now working in had not ever billed hospital visits for non routine complications until I came. I am still an apprentice and just wasn't sure enough of myself to push this issue and wanted confirmation. When you read Medicaid guidelines it quite frankly is unclear at best when it comes to this question. Their guidelines tend to lead you to believe that anything about the pregnancy is global. We billed several and she says that just because they pay doesn't mean it is correct. I called Medicaid and they stated they would pay but our biller called them back and then told us they said they wouldn't. It is a bit of a circus. I want to step up with the knowledge that I am right but I want to be sure. Everything I read supports the billing of non routine complications for OB in the office or hospital. I am right now just focusing on trying to get the non routine complications in the hospital paid. I just thought it was possible that Medicaid wasn't following those rules. Our biller calls Medicaid about every question and I hesitate to contact them also. It just seems like that could cause problems to be asking so many questions from the same office. I'm just not sure she is