Wiki Help billing multiple CPT's on same date of service

nca1006

New
Best answers
Hi all! This is my first time posting, so bear with me.

I work in a family practice office with 2 providers. We have had several instances where the patient gets multiple procedures on the same day and I am not positive I am billing it correctly. For example, if a patient comes in for an established visit for f/u of HTN, wellness exam with depression screening, flu shot, and complains of joint pain and gets a 30/40 shot, the following is what I would bill:

OV- 99214-25
Wellness -99397
Depression screening -G0444-59
Injection -96372-59
Meds -J1030
Meds -J1885

My question comes with the use of -25 and -59. Is this correct? I have been taught to put a -25 on the primary procedure for the secondary, and a -59 on each additional procedure. It just doesn't seem right to me, but I can't find any information that applies. Some insurance companies are rejecting these claims and I have looked everywhere online and in all my books for how to bill this type of situation. No other modifiers I can find will work.

Please Help!

Thanks!

What is the level 4 visit for? You cannot have patient that present symptomatic and also for a wellness. The ICD-10 codes for the Z00 category state general exam WITHOUT complaint, suspected or reported diagnosis.
In addition the excludes 1 exclusion states excludes encounter for signs and symptoms.
If the patient presents complaining of pain then it is a visit for the pain and he wellness should be rescheduled.