Wiki Has anyone taken the CCS exam?

lsmft

Best answers
Our employer is mandating that we all take and pass the CCS exam. I am CPC certified currently. Has anyone taken the CCS exam lately and can offer any suggestions of comments on the exam?

CCS exam

Our employer is mandating that we all take and pass the CCS exam. I am CPC certified currently. Has anyone taken the CCS exam lately and can offer any suggestions of comments on the exam?

I am currently studying for the CCS exam ( as well as the CPMA). You need to buy the study guide from AHIMA. The emphasis is somewhat different to the CPC in that it is mainly about hospital, as opposed to physician coding. You have to understand quite a bit about some billing, DRG's, data sets etc. In addition you have to code some reports (I think 14), mainly inpatient but a few outpatient/ASC's so it is not all multiple choice. A pretty tough test, at least compared to CPC.

CCS more in demand

I'm currently studying for my CSS as well - it seems to be more in demand.

Lin

Lin I totally agree. The CCS seems to be the gold standard so to speak. I am proud of my CPC and it has served me well for many years but things seem to be changing.