Wiki Global Period for Gastric Endoscopy

zathras1974

Best answers
Hello everyone, just a billing question that I hope I might be able to get some assistance with.

First, let me preface by saying I am still a student in a MBC program, so please bear with me if the question might seem a little elementary.

In February my mother went in for gastric endoscopy to diagnose a hiatal hernia. About 4 hours after being released from the ASC, she spiked a 104 fever. This necessitated a visit to the ER, diagnosis of aspiration pneumonia, and subsequent overnight admission.

During the ER visit we advised the billing representative that we felt we had a global period situation. So when the hospital attempted to bill for the visit and admission, I advised against payment, due to this being a direct complication from the procedure. I feel all care received in the ER and hospital admission should fall under the global period for the endoscopy.

As an aside, the hospital is refusing to release to us the ICD and CPT codes they billed medicare, saying "only insurance companies are entitled to that information". Thus I can't be sure of the procedure codes they used.

What I'm hoping for is some direction toward a website that specifies:
a) What the global period for a gastric endoscopy is (I believe it's 0 day, but that's only a guess).
b) A global package covers complications resulting from a procedure.

The hospital is refusing to acknowledge that a global period even exists for an endoscopy. :confused:

We are located in Florida, if that makes a difference.

ANY help would be very much appreciated.

~Stephen

Hello everyone, just a billing question that I hope I might be able to get some assistance with.

First, let me preface by saying I am still a student in a MBC program, so please bear with me if the question might seem a little elementary.