Wiki Floundering in job search

bpresta

Best answers
Hello,

I am CPC with a certification as a CMAA also. I am working as a medical biller/customer service rep after the position I was originally hired for evaporated due to the economy. I have given my workplace a chance but after nearly two years,it has become apparent that all I'll ever be there is a body to answer their phones.

I have initiated a job search because I feel I am worth more than that. However, these past six months have been frustrating. I feel my resume may be holding me back because all the employers see is my long history of customer service and not my experience in the medical field.

Can anybody in the Columbus, Ohio area recommend a good resume service that can help me present myself as an eager coder and not just another customer service/collections rep? I got the certifications to get OUT of customer service... :(

I haven't gotten my coding certification yet (I'm still studying and reviewing on my own), but I do have an AAS degree in Medical Office Admin. Assisting.. It is frustrating. I was hired at a cardiology clinic in East Texas last August. But, like you, a bunch of us were laid off due to the economy. I'd like to get a job in a medical billing office or department (in East Texas, preferably Tyler, TX) working closely with a medical coder with the possibility of practicing some coding. I'm still looking off and on while performing self-study for the certification exam.

But I can image how hard it is to find work to keep your knowledge in practice. I hope you do find something.. bless your heart. To have the knowledge and the credentials and unable to land a job because you don't have the experience. How do they expect us to have experience if they don't hire.. I'd tell them that you just became certified and would like to prove your knowledge to them on a trial basis. Or have you already done that?