Wiki Exam Tips

aarthys11

Networker
Best answers
I am taking the CPC exam in May. Any exam tips/advice are welcome. I have been preparing for it for the past 6 months intensively. I don't have any experience in this field. How easy/tough is the exam for a person without experience and for who is solely depending on the practice exams in aapc and certification guide? Please let me know. Thanks.

hi aarthys11
im also a newly CPC-A passer. I think time management is one key to pass the exam. Truly majority of the questions are time consuming and doing more practice test taking will help a lot. 6 months of intensive review is a lot. I've done comprehensive review for 6 weeks. You can do it. Just stay calm and relax at the day of your exam. Congratulations in advance.

Hey!

Ok so here are some great tips for you for time management. Everyone is scared their first time around with these exams about time management so trust me when I say:

1) Do the anatomy and medical terminology questions first (this will allow you to assess your time more accurately since you most likely will not be spending the 2.37 minutes per question you are allotted.)

2) Do your most comfortable sections next. These questions should be givens if you are confident with that section.

3) Do questions that only have 1 CPT answer or 1 ICD-9 code per multiple choice answer for easy elimination.

4) Do NOT leave all of the long questions for the end. You will be tired and you will not want to read them.

5) Eliminate answers from the smallest factor to the largest factor. For example: Eliminate answers with wrong modifiers first, then wrong diagnoses, then wrong CPTs.

6) Do not get caught up on any questions. If you are stuck, move on.

7) Leave yourself enough time (about 25 minutes) to bubble in your answers.

I hope this helps!
Andrew