Wiki EKG with an interrogation

Best answers
:confused:Hello, I need assistance. The 93000 is denying as incidental to codes 9328X for interrogations but a modifier is allowed. I was advised that a modifier 59 can be appended IF the EKG tracing was in the chart. Because I am new to cardiology, I can't find supporting guidelines that state this is ok from a coding perspective, is the EKG separately reportable? I want to ensure that the practice is reimbursed for their servies (it's an office setting and we own the equipement) and I'm not unbundling. Any assistance would be appreciated. Thank you.

We bill for an EKG, interrogation, and an office visit all on the same day. We use the 59 modifer on the EKG.

Thanks Lindsay, but why? What makes the EKG distinct from the interrogation if the codes are built to be incidental? This is what I am thinking about and need further explanation. Is this written in the coding guidelines anywhere?

My understanding is that you can only append a modifier 59 to the EKG if the EKG was done before the interrogation and due to the EKG results the doc decided to do the interrogation. Also, these circumstances would have to be documented in the patients chart. I hope this helps.

Laura L. Porter, CPC
Jamestown Area Medical Associates

lauarp is correct about billing for the EKG and interrogation. I recently read an article about this subject. I have been doing some much research and reading lately I cant remember which website I found it at. When I find the link I will post it.

Dolores,

EKG + interrogation