Wiki Education- Preventative visit vs. a Sick visit

LKaf7

Networker
Best answers
Hi!

Does anyone have any tips or tools on educating a provider when to use a LOS (Ex 99213) vs Preventative (99395)? I have given guidelines, examples, all the tips I can think of and this is still an issue. Example, DXs listed are all problem oriented but the CPT is preventative 99395, when I request to change to a LOS, I am asked "why?" when I explain this is a sick visit and not a preventative visit, they still don't understand. Any tips would be appreciated!

Thank you!

I am a provider trainer and have encountered this exact thing. I tell them this:

"A patient is scheduled to come in for a preventative visit. Possibly a check-up, a yearly exam, etc. Then suddenly they say 'Oh! By the way...' and go into issues they have. For example a back ache, or cold symptoms. If these issues are addressed and examined, then the visit becomes a "sick visit" and cannot be billed as a preventative visit. The coding will show symptoms or possibly a diagnosis for an issue. If you did any kind of workup for these, i.e. giving prescriptions, placing orders, etc., then they are no longer there for a preventative visit as your codes and notes will reflect that you actually have taken care of an issue that was presented by the patient. If the patient mentions the issues but no workup for the issues is done, then you can still bill for a preventative. The key here is ADDRESSING THE ISSUES. If they do, then it is a sick visit."

You must let the doctors know that it is their responsibility to inform the patient that if they weren't charged a copay for a preventative, that they may now be charged one from their insurance because this has become a visit where they have taken care of presenting problems, beyond preventative care.