Wiki ECMO/post cardiotomy dictation help!

shariblove

Contributor
Best answers
Hi everyone! I am an anesthesia coder and I need help on this dictation. I am so confused, I think I've confused myself the more I've tried to make sense of this, can anyone help? Thanks so much!! My expertise is NOT Cardiovascular Thoracic! :eek:

PREOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES:
1. Open chest, on venoarterial extracorporeal membrane oxygenation, status post cardiotomy.
2. Heart failure.
3. Coronary artery disease.

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES:
1. Open chest, on venoarterial extracorporeal membrane oxygenation, status post cardiotomy.
2. Heart failure.
3. Coronary artery disease.

PROCEDURES PERFORMED:
1. Removal of foreign body (Kerlix).
2. Chest exploration and washout.
3. Sternal closure.
4. Placement of supervision negative pressure dressing wound VAC.
5. Transesophageal echo.

COMPLICATIONS: None.

ESTIMATED BLOOD LOSS: Less than 20 mL.

SPECIMENS: None.

PROCEDURE FINDINGS: Dilated left ventricle with EF of 20% to 25%. On full flow. With moderate RV dysfunction.

INDICATION: The patient is a 48-year-old gentleman with a low EF who underwent the CABG and was able to come off bypass on a balloon pump and multiple inotropes, who required increasing inotropic support Over next several days needing ECMO. The patient was centrally cannulated and had an open chest and was taken back to the ICU and diuresed with CRRT. The patient presents today needing a washout and to evaluate his heart.