Wiki E/M with colonoscopies

svms

Networker
Best answers
I am of the understanding that you do not bill E/M's prior to a colonoscopy if they are screening.

Can someone direct me to a link that states I CAN bill the E/M's that are diagnostic.

I am new to billing General Surgery/Gastroenterology. We are a small multi-specialty and have just brought this surgeon on board. So not only am I new to billing for him, but I also want information I can use for provider education.

Last edited:
http://www.palmettogba.com/palmetto/providers.nsf/vMasterDID/8EELDY5430

Jurisdiction 11 Part B
Screening Colonoscopy and Evaluation & Management Service on the Same Day
Typically, patients referred for a screening colonoscopy do not have signs or symptoms that support a diagnostic colonoscopy. The physician performing the colonoscopy may wish to see and evaluate the patient prior to the screening colonoscopy. In this case, the evaluation and management (E/M) visit is generally not separately billable.

Even though some patients may be at high risk for the procedure due to concurrent conditions that may affect the decision to perform the procedure, the patient evaluation for these risk factors is included in the usual pre-service work associated with the screening colonoscopy.

A separate E/M service may be submitted for patients that are referred for a screening colonoscopy when either of the following scenarios occurs either when:
?All the required components of the E/M are documented and based on this evaluation the physician decides not to proceed with the procedure
?All the required components of the E/M are documented and the physician determines the patient has signs and symptoms that warrant a diagnostic colonoscopy instead of the screening colonoscopy