Wiki E/M vs Consultation

adooley

Best answers
I'm not sure what I should code if the patient comes in to just meet our physician. She spends about 15-20 minutes with them and discusses any issues but does not do an exam. The patient just mainly is wanting to meet the doctor to see if she wants to establish care. What should I code for this meeting?

Thanks!!
Angie :confused:

What code based on time? I don't know what we can bill without an exam. I have been billing for an ASC for 12 years so I'm just now getting back into physician billing and I need a little help. Thank you so much for taking time to answer me!

Angie

For E/M coding if the provider spends more than half the visit time with the patient in counseling or coordination of care and that is documented along with the time, you can code based on that. There is no exam needed when coding on time. My providers do a statement like this: "Greater than 50% of this face to face visit was spent in counseling or coordination of care. See note for issues discussed. Total time face to face:"

Then I pick my level based on:
99201-10 min
99202-20 min
99203-30 min
99204-45 min
99205-60 min

So for example is the provider said they spent 30 min in counseling or coordination of care you would code 99203.

I hope this helps.

In order to bill an E/M there must be medical necessity. Just coming in to meet the doctor does not establish medical necessity no matter how long he spends with the patient. Discussing issues without any medical decision making involved also does not establish medical necessity. In order to bill based on time at least 50% of the encounter must be spent in counseling and/or coordination of care. If your physician is not providing these two elements he cannot bill based on time.