Wiki E&M Time ?

htidd

New
Best answers
When coding E&M visits how do you know when to code by just the time the provider documented instead of by the HPI, Exam, & MDM? I've never coded by just time before so I'm a little curious as to when the situation applies. Is it just when the documentation doesn't include all the elements but time is documented or should I always include coding by time when I'm picking an E&M level?

When coding E&M visits how do you know when to code by just the time the provider documented instead of by the HPI, Exam, & MDM? I've never coded by just time before so I'm a little curious as to when the situation applies. Is it just when the documentation doesn't include all the elements but time is documented or should I always include coding by time when I'm picking an E&M level?

I have always heard that you can code by time if more than 50% of the face-to-face time was spent on counseling and coordination of care. If all 3 of these things can be answered yes, then you can code by time:
1. Does documentation reveal total time?
2. Does documentation describe the content of counseling or coordinating care?
3. Does documentation reveal that more than half of the time was counseling or coordinating care?

Hope that helps!

The time documented must state more than 50% was spend on coordination of care. Also make sure you figure out the elements because if the elements you get come to a higher level then what the time based statement gives you then you would go with the elements.

Hope this helps