Wiki E/M new pt vs est pt

samyjm13

Guru
Best answers
I have been coding now for 5 yrs, and I have done pretty good coding E/M levels. Now, the orginization where I work tells me that if a new patient doesn't meet all the elements I have to code an established patient level and that is the way they have always done it.
I have always used my audit sheet that I revceived at an E/M audit class I took and have never coded an est. patient level when it was a new patient. Does anybody else code this way or did I miss something? Could use some enlightenment on this.
And please, somebody has to have an opinion on this, sometimes when I ask questions I don't get an answer. Sure could use one on this issue.

Thanks so much!!
samy

I'm not sure what you mean. The E&M levels of service for a new patient have the key component criteria that usually can be met from documentation. Are you saying, for example if the patient doesn't meet the lowest level of key components for a new patient: PF history, a PF exam and a straightforward MDM (which is a 99201), you would code down to a 99211?

Sorry for not explaining myself, but yes basiclly that is what they tell me, that if it doesn't have all the elements for a new patient that they code it at a est. patient level, because it would meet all elements for an est. patient. I don't feel I am making any sense either. lol

Thanks
samy

So for instance if they have only a detailed history, and medical decision making of moderate complexity but no exam they could bill a 99214 since they only needed 2 of the 3? Good question. I would like to see what people think of that as well.