Wiki E/M levels chosen by provider

JWismer

Best answers
I'm fairly new to coding/billing, been doing it for just over a year now. My practice manager told me and our other coder/biller today that it is ILLEGAL for us to change the level of E/M circled by the doctor on the superbill. I was a little confused by this because I always thought it was the role of the coder to read the doctors notes and determine the level of the office visit.

She proceeded to tell us even though the note has no HPI, no physical exam, and no review of systems that because the doctor circled a 99204 on the superbill that we HAD to bill it out as that code. She also said that the doctor would be the one held liable for any audits. I recently became certified and my understanding was that if I knowingly upcode that I could lose my certification. I know I'm still new to the field but I thought this was considered insurance fraud, since it clearly doesn't meet the requirements for a new patient level 4 office visit.

Can anyone offer me some guidance as to what to do here, or how to handle this situation going forward? Im very confused now because I don't want to do anything illegal and I thought I was doing it correctly when I reviewed the doctors note for the office visit and adjusted his E/M level according to the requirements for each level of service. Thank you for any help with this matter.

I would not overcode under any circumstances. Can you query the doctor and ask him addend the note to reflect the missing elements? I do E/M coding and I am allowed to code according to what the note reflects. So if my doctor selects a 99205 ( which he does all the time) It is almost never that level...majority of them are 99203's. So I bill accordingly and he is fine with it. He is very supportive and does not want to risk an audit. And keep in mind if he is audited..you will be held accountable as well. Hope this helps