Wiki E & m consult billing

Best answers
Hello:

I have a question in regards to billing for a Consult. A physician where I work is billing for Consults on patients who are self referred. He stated that as long as he writes a letter to the patients PCP, he is allowed to bill for Consults. I tend to disagree but since I am not a coder I want to check with my resources....

Thank you so much and have a great day!!!!
Lori:confused:

Hello:

I have a question in regards to billing for a Consult. A physician where I work is billing for Consults on patients who are self referred. He stated that as long as he writes a letter to the patients PCP, he is allowed to bill for Consults. I tend to disagree but since I am not a coder I want to check with my resources....

Thank you so much and have a great day!!!!
Lori:confused:

Your thinking is correct! Self referred is equavilent to new pt not a consult. There must be a written request from another physician, just because your doc is going to send a letter to the PCP that does not constitute a consult.

I would refer your provider to CPT's definition of a consultation. Your provider must receive a request for a consultation, render his opinion and report his findings back to the requesting physician. While sending a report back to the PCP may be good continuity of care, it does not meet the definition nor the requirements to report a consultation code.

Consultations
A consultation is a type of evaluation and management service provided by a physician at the request of another physician or appropriate source to either recommend care for a specific condition or problem or to determine whether to accept responsibility for ongoing management of the patient's entire care or for the care of a specific condition or problem.