Wiki e/m confusion

ekfannin

Contributor
Best answers
I am studying for the CPC exam and while I was talking to one of the billers in my office she made mention that if one of the doctors rounds at the hospital and the patient can't physically describe his review of systems then you would still code as if he had reviewed all systems even if he hadn't reviewed any. Is that right? because to me it doesn't make sense if he reviewed no systems shouldn't you code it that way?

Caveat

I think the biller was talking about the history "caveat". Basically if the patient is no condition to give an ROS, it is not required. But the physician needs to clearly document the reason the patient could not give the ROS. Also if there is another source like family member who could provide any history, the provider should use that resource. But the biller was pretty much correct.

Jim

That might also be referencing the interval history in subsequent hospital visits where the physician doesn't need to keep documenting the same items if there is no change in the history on subsequent visits. In my experience, I rarely use history in these visits as it is rarely documented. And with only 2 of 3 key elements needed....

I think the biller was talking about the history "caveat". Basically if the patient is no condition to give an ROS, it is not required. But the physician needs to clearly document the reason the patient could not give the ROS. Also if there is another source like family member who could provide any history, the provider should use that resource. But the biller was pretty much correct.

Jim

If the Doctor mentions why he can not obtain a ROS he does not get credit for a complete ROS right? thats just clarifying why it was not done and he gets "counted" as no ROS...right?