Wiki E/M Coding Based on MDM (Physician Practice)?

Best answers
I have been coding for about six months now and I recently received some feedback on an official audit that was done on a couple of my providers. It was noted on the report, for example, that for established patients if the history and exam portions of the visit met a 99214, but the medical decision making of the same visit met a 99213, the visit should have been coded as a 99213.

I'm wondering if the accepted practice is to now always use the MDM plus either the history or exam portions to determine your E/M level when only 2 out of the 3 components are required? Or are you using just the history and exam portions in order to code at the highest level possible?

We are going to be having a discussion about this topic at work in a few days, so I'm interested in hearing what methods other coders are using. Thanks in advance!

CPT book explains that for any Established visits, two of the three E/M components (History, Exam or Medical Decision Making [MDM]) should be counted against the level of service. I have yet to officially find something from either AMA or CMS that specifically states, the MDM has to be one of the two components which determines the Established visit level. The best I can find is the Medical Necessity, which is a very vague term and my MAC even states it's not quantifiable.

However, many coders and even some from AAPC have opinions that suggest MDM = Medical Necessity (MN), or at the very least leans heavily towards MN; thus should be one of the E/M components when determining Established/Subsequent visits. Our practice has also adopted this way of thinking in regards to Established/Subsequent E/M component selection. I tend to agree with this mindset as well. CMS is hinting that the upcoming revamp of E/M guidelines might also focus more on the MDM and less so on the other two E/M components.