Wiki Does Bromfed count towards MDM

ebentley05

Contributor
Best answers
In our EMR when prescribing a rx it counts towards MDM and drives the level of the visit up. Does anyone know if bromfed counts? Some consider it OTC even though it really isn't and requires a written rx due to containing pseudoephedrine.
Thank you

Hello, I am not an expert but here is my thought. I know for sure if MD issues a prescription to the medication, then it's not OTC. The risk is moderate. But for the coder to bill level 4, we must meet 2 out of 3 columns: Complexity of dx, Data, Risk.

As @natashalage pointed out, we are discussing the risk level only here since that is the only information provided.
An OTC med written as an rx by the provider would almost always still be low risk. If the reason is simply to have insurance cover an OTC med, or because pseudoephedrine is used to make meth, so it is being monitored, neither of those things actually increase the patient's risk (unless they are actually making meth with it).
I did find this AAFP reference:
If you are billing based on MDM, you can include decisions about prescription medications, but over-the-counter (OTC) medications generally don't meet moderate complexity. If you use OTC medications in that context, just state why the decision was higher risk. A prescription for an OTC medication for insurance coverage purposes does not meet this threshold.
Summary - it is possible for an OTC med to be moderate risk, but that complexity must be sufficiently documented.