Wiki Decision to open my own billing service???

gr8gal61

Guru
Best answers
Has anyone had the opportunity of success in providing billing services, at home to physicians? I have several years experience in several fields and have performed remote coding for over 4 years for a major trauma hospital and absolutely loved it. I am interested in a decent billing/coding program to use for all fields that doesn't require me to put my house on the auction block but more importantly is how to charge for this service? Hourly? Per Case? This is where I lack as I can market myself but the contract with a physician is what I have no idea on how to begin. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. I am in Texas should this make a difference!

I have not had business in Texas yet but typical billing companies make a percentage of what they collect for the practice. So, if you collect $150K, you would get a small percentage of that monthly.

Hope that helps! Good luck!

I had a billing service back in the 90's. All I can say is it was very hard work and I did not have the capital to compete with the big companies offering the same. I did it for a couple of years, worked a whole lot of hours and didn't make much at it.

I own a Medical Billing Service/Practice Management Consulting service in West Texas. We opened 10 years ago last month and currently have 10 employees and service over 35 unique practices and over 100 providers.

Owning your own medical billing service is a lot of work and can be very tough. If you know what you are doing (complete revenue cycle management), then you can be very successful. With ICD-10 coming, I suspect there will be smaller private practices who will turn to outsourcing their billing if they are not able to successfully implement ICD-10 without significant interruption to their revenue stream.