Wiki CPC Student Needs Encouragement...Help!

Elsie16

Networker
Best answers
I'm taking a course to prepare for the CPC exam...and last week we had a substitute ....who just happened to mention that she didn't pass the exam on her first try....this did little to boost my moral to say the least...I know we get one free re-take, but honestly I was really hoping not to have to use it...been studying hard, but I'd be lying if I said my hopes weren't a bit deflated after hearing this statement.....Can anyone offer some encouragement/wise words?

Thanks!

Elsie

Not everyone passes on their first try

Elsie..
...no shame in not passing. It is a difficult test, especially for someone who has had no experience in the field. It's not meant to be easy. I'm a hard-working coder/biller and still feel very new to the field. I studied as hard as anyone could and managed to be an A student, but my first attempt was greeted with non-passing grade. Not to be discouraged, returned to study with renewed vigor and can honestly say that taking the extra time to review and supplement what I had learned before did the trick. Looking back now, am actually thankful for the experience because it sharpened my study skills. Remember, if the test were easy, everybody would be taking it and passing. The standards are rightfully raised high. Wouldn't have it any other way. So, don't let what your teacher told you discourage you in any way. Obviously, she was a motivated individual who set out to reach her goal and didn't let failure stop her. Now THAT's encouraging!
---Suzanne E. Byrum, CPC

study hard

I was an A sudent in class and i didnt make it the first time, try to learn from the AAPC exam study guide and practice questions, they are very similar to the ones u get in the exam. The more u practice the better it is for u. Timing the questions is not a problem at all, from my own experience, i had ample time in hand to finish the exam.

Good luck:)