Wiki CPC-A looking for a job

kakessler

Best answers
Does anyone out there have a job for a CPC-A with no experience?
I have applied to many jobs through Carilion and Centra Health.
I graduated from CVCC in Lynchburg in May 2013. Passed the CPC exam in June of 2013. I have taken some time off to watch my grandchildren while my daughter completed her degree as an RN in December 2014. I have applied to around 15 jobs since January 2015; with no luck. I am ICD-10-CM proficient through AAPC. Does anyone have advice on getting a job with no medical office experience?

Thanks

K.Kessler
CPC-A
Roanoke, VA

Work for CPC-A

I am having the same issue . Lately I have seen a lot more jobs say they will accept 1-3 years experience rather that the 3+ I have been seeing. So, I am focusing on that 1 year. I took the coding for CPC & passes in June 2014. I have been deligently working ever since to try & get a job as a coder, but it is definately not that simple. One piece of advice I can give is that AAPC has Practicode which will gain you 1 year of coding experience. This 1 year experience in combination with your coding class which will substitute for the 80 contact education hours will have your apprentice status removed & will show employers that you have 1 year of real world experience coding actual claims. I will be starting Practicode once I am done with my ICD-10 training (which I am doing now). Good Luck to you both :)

Thanks Faith 360

I have already went to night classes 2 1/2 years in order to obtain a Medical Coding Certificate. I will check into the Practicode to obtain that one year of experience. I just finished the ICD-10-CM training in the fall of 2014.

Thanks for your advice; it is greatly appreciated. I hope you find a job soon.