Wiki Cpb

clhead

Best answers
Hello All,

I am scheduled to take my CPB exam in April of 2016, does anyone have any helpful tips or suggestions. Please all helpful suggestions are welcomed.

Hello All,

I am scheduled to take my CPB exam in April of 2016, does anyone have any helpful tips or suggestions. Please all helpful suggestions are welcomed.

I just took CPB in December and passed the first time but I have almost 20 years experience. I am great at studying but awful at tests due to nerves. The CPB exam is 200 questions. You can miss 40 questions at the most to get 70% passing grade. If timing is your issue then break test into sections and time frame allotted for each section. 5 hrs and 40 minutes = 340 minutes. Do the easy questions first. Then go back over test -question by question -on the ones that needed more time. On the ICD & CPT books affix your section tabs for easy access to each section. Make notes in the related book like notes for Diagnosis in the ICD book and Procedures in the CPT & HCPCS books. Notes about the Carriers & Laws can be written in front of HCPCS. That's what I did.
I set up mock exams at home using Chapter quizzes & Sample Exam in back of Study Guide book... I wrote answers on separate paper so I could keep doing it. These mock exams give you 190 questions-14 chapters w/ 10 questions and 50 on Sample Exam. Then set a timer for 340 minutes and just keep doing this until you get it down well under 340 minutes with a passing score of 70% or 133 correct.
I passed the first time. Not by much but I passed. You know the old saying" What do they call a Dr. that passed his board exam by 1 point.... Doctor. Same as the one that got 100%
Good luck on your test. I hope this helps.

a couple of tips