Wiki Contract work- steady?

Best answers
I have been offered a coding position from home paid by chart no benifits will train me. Does anyone here know if I can expect contract work to be a steady source of work. Could I easily be terminated if I do not make quota quickly and fail audits. I'm CPC-A and would be giving up an VERY good nursing job to make transition

If I may give a few words. I did medical transcription for 10 years. It ended up being a fading field. A year or so ago I was in a spot where I was working and getting paid "per line" and there was hardly ever any work. some days were awesome, other days, i think i made more in my first job as a teenager. Anyway, that's why i got into coding. I'm almost a year in and have just accepted another position with a different company locally to keep moving onward and upward. I do keep a part-time transcription job as well, where i am an independent contractor getting paid per line, but the work is great and busy OR very scarce. I always hesitate from now on with that type of job. If you do decide, I hope you always have more than you can handle! :)

Can you do both? I have two jobs, my full time job and the other as a freelance translator. As bnockis mentioned, with these contract/freelance jobs you will probably have feast or famine; when it's good it's really great, but when it's low it's really hard to eek by on a low income that month. I use my freelance income as a bonus check that month and cannot rely on that cash flow on a regular basis.

I would be hesitant to give up your full time benefited nursing job, over a contract non-benefited job with a non guaranteed paycheck; unless you need to cut back on your work hours, which a contract/freelance job might just be the right fit.