Wiki Consulting Question

Betsyd

New
Best answers
I have been a Certified Coder for the past 5 years. I am also an experienced Financial Analyst.

Recently, while in my new position at a new Health System, I have been asked to come and work at many places.(Mostly our vendors) And, that got me thinking about consulting. I would love the freedom of making my own schedule.

My question is: Has anyone out there started their own consulting business? And, if so, what did you need to get it off the ground?

Thank you and I look forward to any and all suggestions.

Thanks again;
Betsy

Assuming you will start from home and billing is not apart of your business, honestly, you really don't need much. You have your skills, your resources, and your clients. Besides coming up with a name for your business, your logo, computer, fax, phone, letter head, business cards, supplies, and all that jazz .... You really only need to talk to your lawyer, establish a tax id, you could even use your ssn, have them do all the legal documents, such as insurance, and also have them review and/or draft up your client contracts. You may also hire an accountant/bookkeeper if you wish. The only other thing is marketing/advertising unless you are operating by word of mouth. The only other option is hire a business consultant to help create a business plan and stick by it to ensure maximum growth of your business. As your business grows, if you add employees, choose to rent space and all that, that's a matter of contacting the right people to put it into place. (lawyer, realtor, contact your city/county for occupancy permit, utilities, phone lines) Then you'll also need to look into payrolls, benefits, 401K, and all that not so fun stuff. I'm sure you can google "starting a small business check list" or something similiar and that can definitely help you.