Wiki Colonoscopies: screening vs. diagnostic

kimberliterpstra

Networker
Best answers
Is anyone able to provide a good resource for information on this? I am new to billing these for a colorectal surgeon and could use some solid guidance. Patients are upset because they thought they were going in for a screening and because a polyp, etc. is found, it changes to a diagnostic procedure and therefore their insurance doesn't pay the same benefit (more $ they have to pay). I have a primary care physician coming at me, telling me I need to change the way we code it because the "intent" was for a screening and that's the way it should be billed. I disagree, because from what I've been told, once "something" is found and it's biopsied, it changes from a screening to a diagnostic.
Any information would be appreciated!

The coding guidelines cover this. When an asymptomatic patient presents for screening then the screening V code remains the first listed dx code and the finding which is incidental is secondary. You code then the procedure code of say polypectomy with a 33 modifier. Your provider is correct. A screening never changes from screening, it remains screening but may INCLUDE a diagnostic due to incidental findings. If a patient is symptomatic and the provider upon the study renders a definitive diagnosis then the diagnosis changes from the symptom to the finding, since the finding was what was being sought.

screening vs diagnostic