Wiki Coding Jobs???

codingkath

Best answers
:confused:Hi Everyone,
I really need someone to explain to me what has happened to coding jobs? Why is it that all of a sudden just about every open job I look at for a coder states, coder/billing? I always thought that coding and billing are two separate jobs? Also, I noticed that a CCS is in way more demand than a CPC. I really feel like I have been lied to and led on? I had been coding for six years as a remote ER coder and lost my job. Now I haven't been able to find any job that matches with what I know and have learned. I am giving it up. I have had it. I have been looking since April and I now know that I will not get another coding job because, All of a sudden I need a bachelors degree, have to know billing and have to be a CCS? There is nothing wrong with changing with the times but, I was trained to be an ER medical records coder and now all that is right down the drain. I feel like I have wasted the last 8 years. I refuse to pay more money to learn more because there is no one who could guarantee me a job and I'm not wasting any more of my time or money. These big companies are giving a lot of people the run around. I'm not sure why? But, I am sure it has to do with money. Obviously these companies are getting paid to get names in their databases. Sorry to be so negative.

I have to agree with you. In the past, I never had a problem obtaining another job. Now, more and more employers are looking for certified coders that have a CCS certification. They also want coders to know billing as well. I suppose that in order to make yourself more marketable you would have to obtain the CCS certification in order to land a "coding" job...... :confused:

re coding postion

I have a CPC-H credential from AAPC , am also nurse from London England holds nursing degree and specialized in orthopaedic nursing and holds Orthopaedic Nursing Diploma .