Wiki Coding Job Hiring Practices

Deb Sue

Best answers
I graduated in 2013 and was certified in December 2013 as a CPC-A Medical Coder. Also completed ICD-10 training. In March 2014 I retired after 30 years of state government employment in Iowa. At that time I began working for a hospital in Des Moines to get my "foot in the door" so that I could eventually get hired as a medical coder. I've done some "minor coding" for the trauma registry. I also have 10 years of experience as a medical transcriptionist which I did part-time from home for a county hospital. To this date, I have not been able to secure a coding job. I am very disillusioned with the talk out there that "medical coders are in short supply and needed". I have applied for 7 coding positions that became available within the hospital I work in - and every one of them said 'thanks, but no thanks', because I did not have experience. I have applied for at least a dozen outside positions, and with smaller hospitals and received the same answer. I have even gone through a referral company, that came back and said I didn't have enough experience. IS THIS THE ONLY THINGS CODING DEPARTMENTS/COMPANIES LOOK AT???? Just "experience?????" Never mind the education in ICD-9, ICD-10, ICD-PCS, HCPS, HIPAA and all the other education in anatomy, physiology, terminology, human disease, etc. that we take to prepare for medical coding? It's always "lack of experience!!!" What else do I need to do besides "Keep applying?" We have had the same Medical Coder position open in this hospital since September 1. However, I cannot reapply for it, because I have already applied and was rejected. I don't understand. Does anyone else feel this frustration. I'm sorry I ever retired from my state government job at this point. I wish people didn't talk up the idea that medical coders are in demand.....because we're not, really!!

SO DISAPPOINTED and DISILLUSIONED....