Wiki Coding as a new career choice

Dee1973

Best answers
I have a diploma in medical assisting and hated the field because I just felt like the office gopher. I knew a little about everything but not "enough" of one specific thing. That's why I want to get into medical coding and billing. I had a short class in coding but I don't have my certification. During the class, I understood the basics of coding. I've been out of the workforce for some time because I tried LPN school in 2007 after being a medical assistant and found that it wasn't for me. Then I had my first child in 2008 and have been a sahm ever since. Teaching myself coding and taking the online class to help with certification won't be a problem...BUT...realistically, the more I get into this coding stuff the more I realize that there is so much to it that it's mind boggling. I should have started this in my 20's. I'm 38 and I'll be 40 by the time I get my certification. I don't have a lot of time to study. I feel overwhelmed by how much info there is to coding. I don't like what I'm hearing about people not finding jobs or taking forever to get hired. I want a job where I can feel like I know what I'm doing but there seems to be so many changes going on in the coding field like this ICD-10 business. For crying out loud I want a career but as soon as a manager sees a time lapse in employment then I'm toast. I guess I'm worried about the "age" factor and starting over. There seems to be so many obstacles into getting into this field.:confused:

The age thing!

Don't feel like your are too old. I'm 57 and retired from a job of 35 years. It's been that long since I had to put together a resume. We are not old were are just getting better!:)

Network is the way to go!